processing a trump victory

 Today is a day of mourning. I am so sad. Yesterday, racism, homophobia, xenophobia, and sexism won. And the whole world is watching. This great nation has raised hate up on a pedestal, not only condoning it but supporting it.


Yesterday taught me that you can literally do anything you want if you have money.


How ironic that all Trump talked about was the system being rigged against him, a white male billionaire. And then…once again in US history the electoral college fucks us over. Hillary gets the popular vote and yet, the white lash prevails and Trump gets office.

I watched the election results roll in at two of my best friends home. They are a same sex couple. And as they lay on the ground grasping on to each other watching the election results, I began to silently cry. Will marriage equality be overturned? Will years of advocacy and social justice work be overturned? I just want to see my best friends get married. I want to move forward, not regress.


I wake up to headlines of the KKK being overjoyed with the election results. Let that sink in. There is NO arguing that Trump is not rooted in bigotry and hate. I am terrified of increasing hate crimes. Trump supporters- any blood shed is on your hands. The world is watching. Your character has been defined.

I read an article this morning where a Muslim young woman tweets that her mom asked her to stop wearing hijab when she saw the election results. Is this country not founded on religious freedom? Or are we just talking about religious freedom for Christians??


People had to wake up and explain to their children this morning that Trump won. I read about a child that is half Puerto Rican and she feared because of that Trump would deport her from the state in which she currently lives. Children are LITERALLY scared for their lives and for their families lives. This is the United States of America and the world is watching.


This election is a direct result of white people fearing losing their privileges. Fear of the “minorities” taking over, fear of immigration, fear of religious differences—fear of ANYTHING different than white hetero christianity.

Today is a day of mourning. I don’t want to organize, advocate, or fight. My soul is weak. I am tired. I feel very defeated.

But rest assured- the work continues. I am not giving up. My work at a multicultural and multi-faith center is more important NOW then ever. 

Today, I mourn. But tomorrow we get back up. We fight to defend and protect our LGBT friends, our Muslim friends, women, immigrants, people of color. We are not going anywhere. This is OUR country too. And our work is just beginning.

Today I mourn. Today I process how a man that has sexual assault cases in the double digits lined up against him, a man that mocked people with disabilities, a man that said “grab em by the pussy,” a man that was endorsed by the KKK, a man that doesn’t believe in climate change—has become the President Elect of the United States of America.

I am also so fucking frustrated with third party voters. This was not an election for you to get off on some moral high ground. If you are a person that voted third party, I need you to reflect deep and hard on that choice. You knew better. And you let us down.

I want to take a moment to speak directly to those that are feeling scared for their lives, their safety, and their well-being. I promise to fight for you. I promise to do everything I can to leverage my white privilege to protect and advocate for you. 

Today I mourn. But do not mistake my current defeated spirit for weakness. The fire is burning in my belly. And now more than ever my work as a community organizer and social justice advocate is critical.

Fellow social justice friends, our work is just beginning. Take today. Mourn. Grieve. Accept. And then tomorrow we get up, we eat breakfast, and we fight for everything we believe in.

I think Jessica Valenti said it best last night:

Tonight is what backlash looks like – to women’s rights, to racial progress, to a cultural shift that doesn’t center straight white men.

But to all the people despairing right now: Please know that you matter, your lives and health matter, I am with you.

No matter what happens, we keep fighting.

Peace and love, my friends. If you want to process all of this with me, leave a comment with your email and I will be in touch with you.

xoxo,

Jessica

One thought on “processing a trump victory

  1. These were some really painful reflections and you captured a lot of what I felt on Tuesday night (and Wednesday and Thursday…), but I appreciate your defiance in the face of this terrible, heartbreaking event.

    I’ve been involved in some organizing efforts in northern Ohio the last few months (mainly with lawyers and the RNC in Cleveland) and would love to know if anything going on in Michigan (would be great to fill in this big red gap between Detroit and Cleveland), so if you hear of anything, please lemme know: joe.galea at gmail.com.

    Also, I’m blogging about it, too, so stop by if you’re so inclined. Take care!
    —J

    Like

Leave a Reply

